Autism Dad: Poem for Brock (Guest Post)

My friend Stephanie wrote this poem. I really liked it and wanted to share it with you…

This is a poem I wrote for my son Brock, who has autism.

For Brock (Our world has two hemispheres,
Autism-and everything else there is.)

All night you sleep guarded
by the shadows around my eyes.

In the morning,
I’ll read your hands
with mine

Find your voice tangled in my hair

remembered from a dream
I once had.

Dreaming, I don’t know
where you go

If you spin in perfect circles,
never leaving orbit

If you speak the language
native to the land.

-Stephanie Bradbury

 

This entry was posted in February 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

