Breaking News!!! Autism Dad’s fans pull off amazing feat

The interview went great. It was at a restaurant downtown over coffee. Very casual and conversational. I felt relaxed and confident, but who wouldn’t after all the love & support you gave me yesterday. The people I interviewed with were cool, creative and down to earth. If all goes well, there should be a third, and hopefully final, interview this month with the new owner. I assume they’re interviewing other people as well, so it’s far from a done deal. But promising, yes.

Thank you for all your prayers, thoughts, messages, and LIKES. It was just what the doctor ordered.

This entry was posted in December 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Breaking News!!! Autism Dad’s fans pull off amazing feat

  1. Veronica says:

    You rock! Keep it up, they will be lucky to have you. December will be a great month – many prayers and good thoughts your way that this works out for you and ultimately your boys :>
    BTW – THAT FACE! I want to pinch his cheeks!

  2. edwardslynne says:

    I knew you could do it. Have been reading your blogs for a little while and you seem like a really good guy. They will see that about you if they didn’t today and the job should be as good as yours. Will still keep good thoughts and fingers crossed for you till you post the next breaking news of got the job:)

  3. carla says:

    Yes, You go ahead and quote her on that …December is the Month for You to get this Job!!!! Keep us posted…carla

  4. Paula says:

    Great news, keep the momentum going!!! You can do this….
    Paula

  5. Cass says:

    Amen! We’ll keep praying for you, for sure 🙂 Glad to hear it went well 🙂

    BTW on a different note– I just wanted to say thanks for sharing in this blog, it’s helped me to know other people understand. Today my 8-yr-old autistic brother, 10-yr-old “typical” brother, and myself (early 20’s) were playing at a McD’s, having a nice time. Well this mother approaches us, references my autistic brother and says, “Is he with you? I just wanted to let you know… He had my little girls cornered up there [up in the slides / the girls around ages 4-6, very tiny], they were scared.” I say, “Oh ok… Hey [brother] what were you playing up there? Say you’re sorry.” [He says sorry, sheepishly.] I continue telling him “you can’t chase girls, you have to play nice things. You can play like that with boys, but not with girls.” He says ok, and moves on. But I don’t so easily.
    I look over at that mother and her tiny precious girls. They are adorable and now I somehow feel like the bad guy. In rare situations, my mother or myself have informed strangers that our sweet little boy is autistic. But not today. Still, it felt… unfair. That this woman, this mother, would never understand the full story. I know she was just being protective, but I hate my beloved brother being cast into a negative light when he simply didn’t understand. (When he does understand, that’s a different story 😉 )
    Anyway, sorry for the rant! But I thought of you when that happened, and knew you would understand… And that helped. So thank you 🙂

    • Autism Dad says:

      Thanks Cassie! And you are right, I can totally relate to your ugly anecdote, and I’m glad you sent me your rant, because so much of what we do here is vent. When I’m out with Ben, sometimes I want everyone to know that he has autism, so they have a chance to adjust their behavior and comments. But usually I don’t say anything, because I don’t think I need to apologize for my beautiful, sweet-natured boy. I think I need to learn to deal more civilly with people who don’t understand Ben. Right now if someone even looks at Ben the wrong way, they have to deal with my wrath. I need to become more composed when I deal with ass-holes :).

  6. Cass says:

    Aw I really appreciate your comment 🙂 And yes… Perhaps someday we will learn what to do with the less informed… For now, it helps me to remember they are simply that– uninformed. When I do chose to tell people about my brother’s autism, many have heard of it, but few know what it really means. And whether we do horrible or awesome when dealing with those frustrating times, at least we know who DOES understand 🙂

  7. Kara says:

    Congrats on the inteview, sorry I have been MIA but thinking of Ben often. Wishing you all a great holiday season and many great smiles and tons of laughter in 2012. XO- Kara

Leave a Reply

