Autism Dad: Prednisone–Before & After

A couple years ago, a highly regarded pediatric neurologist had a hunch that Ben had Landau-Kleffner Syndrome, which has symptoms similar to autism. She recommended treating Ben with prednisone, and informed us of the side effects (see photos). Teresa and I agreed, if reluctantly, to move forward. Ben saw no benefits from the treatment, but we didn’t give it much chance. You see, his mother discontinued the prednisone early on, after the onset of shingles, and I supported her decision. That we caused no lasting harm to Ben is of some comfort. Still, when I look at this photo, it absolutely breaks my heart.

BEFORE:

AFTER:

This entry was posted in December 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Autism Dad: Prednisone–Before & After

  1. We have done Prednisone for my 10 year old daughter. We didn’t see the adverse weight, bloated side effects, but she has had a hard time gaining weight anyway. We see huge reduction in autism symptoms when on it, but no lasting effect after.

    • Autism Dad says:

      You see, that is why it is so helpful to hear from other parents. This makes me wonder if we terminated the Prednisone prematurely, before it had a chance to work.

  2. What a tough decision to have to make.

  3. Maybe it’s dosage related too. I do know we were on low dose, don’t know exact dosage, would have to ask autism mom, master keeper of the records. I was expecting lots of bad side effects from what I read about it and when she took it many years ago for some other reason that escapes me and became hyper from hell. My daughter has seizures and it also seems to help greatly with seizure reduction, which was not really expected.

    • Autism Dad says:

      Exactly, the pediatric neurologist suspected Ben was having seizure activity, though the EEG done a couple years back was inconclusive. We’re supposed to schedule another EEG for him soon. Thank you!

      • My daughter has full blown (no doubt about it) seizures and EEGs have never really showed jack squat. That’s always been a tad frustrating too. Always wished for a “THIS IS THE PROBLEM” and with so much else related to autism, it just ain’t gonna happen for us.

        Actually, just looked at my spreadsheet of meds and seizures and what we took was Prednisolone, which is I think slightly different than Predinsone is some way that is beyond me (or I could be totally wrong on being different). Seems like it had to do with how it is metabolized and has different chemical structure.

  4. I checked with my friendly pharmacist and he said that dosed correctly, they are basically the same. Prednisolone is given to peds. There is probably more to it than that, but thought I would pass along what I know.

  5. Autism Dad says:

    Thanks for the update! And for taking the time to ask your pharmacist!!

  6. I looked this up too the other day, Prednisolone is the active metabolite of prednisone. They have slightly different chemical structures. One is the metabolic precursor of the other. “Though prednisone and prednisolone are used in the same manner and equally as effective, they should not be confused with each other. Prednisone is activated by the liver into prednisolone. For this reason and because it is more easily absorbed, prednisolone is the drug of choice when hepatic disease or insufficiency is present.” Prednisone, the most widely used glucocorticoid, is prednisolone with an 11-keto instead of an 11-beta-hydroxy group. It is an inactive drug precursor that must be converted to prednisolone in the liver to become biologically active

  7. las artes says:

    Only 10-20 per cent of children with Landau-Kleffner syndrome will have normal language and learning abilities in adulthood.

  8. Theresa says:

    My son is 21 and has been diagnosed with LKS since age 4. His EEG was always unclear but a SPECT scan “lit up like a Christmas Tree” revealing seizure hotspots in the left parietal and basal ganglia. He has done well but still has severe language issues, articulation is affected and grammar is poor with a very limited vocabulary. He was in a Deaf program at school, great help. If I had it to do over again, I would focus more on building vocabulary. He also became active is sports…swim team or track would work well…team sports were always a challenge. The LKS seemed to burn out around puberty and he made huge strides once it went into the background. Best of Luck with your precious child

    • Autism Dad says:

      Theresa, now this is powerful — hearing from a mother whose son was diagnosed with LKS and who has made huge strides. Thank you for your kind words, Theresa, and one day I hope I can learn more about your son…and your family’s journey! Happy New Year!!!

  9. Farid says:

    My son now 8.5..detox, prayer, vitamin, gluten, light therapy, aba charlatanism, last but not least biking and EEG biofeedback 100 sessions still doing it with ” normalized quantitative EEG”, acethylcysteine, w-3, vacation, lithiu( I stopped it)..Few occasional sentences that’s all. He is in his own world, goes to library, pulling his cards out…still tries to figure a way out through the pictures which he can’t…alpha Stim too..all teachers are saying “you have done everything already for your son..”. Now at nights I always silently cry…I have decided to do this and never, ever accept it for rest of my existing life…yes I know the quotes of “be positive…go on crap”.. But if he is suffering like this then I like to suffer too then let it be and let’s suffer at least it reminds me I am a human..

Leave a Reply

