Autism Dad: Refrigerator Mothers? Thought we were over this!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/chantal-sicile-kira/the-wall-film-autism_b_1127680.html

 

This entry was posted in December 2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autism Dad: Refrigerator Mothers? Thought we were over this!

  1. Are you kidding! The cold mother is to blame again! When my oldest was 2 we saw a psychologist to try and figure out what the heck was wrong with him. Without even seeing him, he told my husband and I that he had an attachment disorder because I didn’t take good enough care of him when he was sick, which was all the time. I was devastated. He had us come to group therapy sessions to try and get him to attach. It took him about 30 seconds to realize that this kid and I were joined at the hip and if anything, Marc was overly attached to me. I was So mad. Here I was, an RN, who was spending 100% of my time trying to figure out my sick, unusual child and he gave a false diagnosis without seeing him. And basically blamed me for not taking care of him. I vote we burn this movie. It took 10 years to get someone to diagnose him with Asperger’s. So frustrating.

  2. Not just burn the movie, but burn the people who think like this! Please tell me that you also thought that the woman clutching the crocodile was an absolute lune!

Leave a Reply

